Skip to main content

National Advisory Board

Current Members
Maurice Smith (Chair)
M Smith Law, PLLC
Kendal Bowman
State President – NC
Duke Energy
Jack Cecil
President and CEO
Biltmore Farms LLC
Sandra Merkel DeJames
President and CEO
Harmonize Strategy
Jess George
Head of Digital Equity & Community Impact – US and Head of Government & Community Affairs – East
Google Fiber
Peter Harries
Dean, Graduate School
NC State University
Paula Henderson
Executive Vice President and Chief Sales Officer
Reginald B. Henderson
Vice President, Government Affairs
Lowe’s Companies
Cheryl Parquet
Director of Community Engagement and Marketing Activation
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina
Kevin Price
President and CEO
The Institute
Juvencio Rocha-Peralta
Executive Director
Ashley Ruffin
Chief Impact Officer
Civic Federal Credit Union
Suzanne Walsh
Bennett College
Ex-Officio Members
Warwick Arden
Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
NC State University
Ruben Carbonell
Kenan Institute
Jeff Cox
North Carolina Community College System
Hope Williams
North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities
Randy Woodson
NC State University
The Honorable James B. Hunt, Jr.
Governor, North Carolina (1977-1985, 1993-2001)
Abdul Rasheed
CEO, FVW Opportunities
Senior Advisor to Board of Directors